Logo for Upstate Workforce Futures Corporation

To enhance and sustain a successful and innovative workforce system in the Upstate of South Carolina and to provide financial and project support to the Upstate Workforce Development system that meets the needs of businesses in Cherokee, Spartanburg, and Union counties and provides quality jobs for job seekers.

Organization Core Services:

To support activities that assure a diversified, creative, highly-skilled, and flexible workforce that meets the current needs of employers in the Upstate of South Carolina, including the member counties of Cherokee, Spartanburg, and Union. These activities include services that will continue, sustain, and improve the quality of life of our residents.

To view current grant awards please click here


Donate now to help support local workforce initiatives!


Board of Directors:
Ms. Ann Angermeier
Mr. Wade Ballard
Dr. Jean Blackley
Mr. Robert Blount
Ms. Nikki Burgess
Ms. Johnnie-Lynn Crosby
Mr. Charles Ewart, Chairman
Mr. Robert Faucett
Mr. Craig Jacobs

Mr. Allen Smith
Mr. Benjamin Waters
Ms. Martha Young


Mailing Address:
PO Box 5313
Spartanburg, SC 29304


For more information, please write to the address above or email upstateworkforcefuturescorp@yahoo.com .

Four Local Area Students Awarded Danny E. Allen Scholarships

Four students: Micah Harris, Jenna Holland, Sarah Kusters and Turner Smith have been awarded Danny E. Allen Memorial 2023 scholarships from the Upstate Workforce Futures Corporation; a non-profit organization founded to support the Upstate Workforce Board with its workforce development efforts. The award recipients attended a scholarship luncheon on September 29, 2023, at the Country Club of Spartanburg where they were presented with their awards and had the opportunity to meet board members.

Award recipients, Ms. Jenna Holland and Ms. Sarah Kusters, were awarded full scholarships of $750 each.

Ms. Jenna Holland is a 2023 graduate of Dorman High School and is currently in her first year at Clemson University. Ms. Holland is majoring in Mechanical Engineering. Ms. Sarah Kusters is also a 2023 graduate of Dorman High School and is in her first year at Spartanburg Community College. Ms. Kusters is majoring in Manufacturing Machine Tool.

Award recipients, Mr. Micah Harris and Mr. Turner Smith, received partial scholarship awards of $375 each.

Mr. Micah Harris is a 2023 graduate of Spartanburg High School and is in his first year at Clemson University. Mr. Harris is majoring in Computer Engineering. Mr. Turner Smith is a 2023 graduate of Gaffney High School and is also in his first year at Clemson University. Mr. Smith is in the Construction Science and Management Program.

This award application is open to students in Cherokee, Spartanburg and Union counties each year. Applications are issued in February while students are seniors in high school. The awards are made after students attend approximately one month of college.

Click here to access the Danny E. Allen Scholarship. 

Deadline to Return: The application period is currently closed.

Error Message